Rayalaseema is a geographic region in the state of Andhra Pradesh in India. It includes the districts of Anantapur, Chittoor, Kadapa, Kumool, parts of Prakasam districts. These Telugu speaking districts were part of Madras Presidency until 1953 when Telugu speaking districts of Madras presidency were carved out to form Andhra state. Between 1953 and 1956, this region was part of Andhra state. In 1956, Andhra state was merged with Telangana to form Andhra Pradesh state. The usage of the word and identification to a geographic area is relatively recent (early 20th century). Telugu-Kannada speaking Bellary district and Pavagada taluk of Tumkur district of the present day Karnataka also said to be part of historical Rayalaseema. It has an area of 67299 km and population is 1,51,84,908 [2011 census] if only four districts of AP are included.